Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Virginia » Rockbridge County

Rockbridge County

Rockbridge is named for the natural rock arch found in the county.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Augusta County

E – Nelson CountyAmherst County and Bedford County

S – Botetourt County

W – Alleghany County and Bath County

Surrounds Independent Cities – Buena Vista and Lexington


Created:  October 20, 1777                    Map of Virginia highlighting Rockbridge County

County Seat: 

Lexington  1777 – present


Old County Courthouse – Lexington 


Location:  2 South Main Street / Washington Street

Built:  1896 – 1897

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  William George McDowell

Contractor:  A F Withrow


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Lexington to the north of the courthouse. The northwest front has a recessed center section with central entrance on the first story and three large arched windows between columns on the second story with pediment above at the roof line. The sides of the building have slightly projecting center sections rising to pediments at the roof line. The base of the building is course stone and the roof is hipped. The building is now used for county offices.


County Courthouse – Lexington 



Location:  20 South Randolph Street / Nelson Street

Built:  2007 – 2009

Style:  Modern

Architect:  BCWH Architects

Contractor:  Branch & Associates, Inc.


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a three story red colored brick, stone, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Lexington. On the south and west sides are entrances at the southwest corner with two white colored columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story with glass panels between and a large projecting header above. A horizontal belt runs above the first story and a cornice follows the flat roof line. The base of the building is stone facing. The building houses the County Circuit Court, Couny General District Court and County Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court of the 25th Judicial Circuit.


See:  The 25th Judicial Circuit includes Alleghany County, Augusta County, Bath CountyBotetourt CountyBuena Vista, Clifton Forge, Covington, Craig County, Highland County, Lexington, Staunton and Waynesboro.


History:  The county was created in 1777 and Lexington was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a brick structure built by Samuel Lyle, John Lyle and Alexander Stuart in 1778 and burned in 1787. The second courthouse was a brick structure built by William Brice in 1787 and which was destroyed by fire in 1796. The third courthouse was designed by John Bowyer and James Caruthers and built in 1798. The courthouse was damaged by fire in 1802 and destroyed by fire in 1896. The fourth courthouse was constructed in 1896 to 1897 at a cost of $16,902 and is still standing. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 2007 to 2009.


Note:  Within the county are the independent cities of Buena Vista and Lexington.



Old County Courthouse – Lexington

















County Courthouse – Lexington













Photos taken 2013