Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Virginia » Bath County

Bath County

Bath County is named for the city of Bath in England.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Highland County

E – Augusta County and Rockbridge County

S – Alleghany County

W – Greenbrier County, West Virginia and Pocahontas County. West Virginia


Created:  December 14, 1790                Map of Virginia highlighting Bath County

County Seat: 

Bath                  1791 – 1908

Warm Springs  1908 – present


County Courthouse – Warm Springs 


Location:  65 Courthouse Hill Road / Old Mill Road

Built:  1913 – 1914

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  T J Collins & Son

Contractor:  Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building sits on the landscaped grounds of Courthouse Hill in the center of Warm Springs. The south front has a large porch with six large white columns rising to a wide pediment at the roof line. The central entrance is framed. On the center of the roof is a high square white colored cupola with green colored dome. The main section of the building has a central arched window on the second story and gabled roof. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County General District Court and County Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court of the 25th Judicial Circuit. An addition was added on the north side in 1980.



See: The architect T J Collins & Son also designed the courthouses in Augusta County and Rockingham County.


See:  The contractor Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky.


See:  The 25th Judicial Circuit includes Alleghany County, Augusta County, Botetourt CountyBuena Vista, Clifton Forge, Covington, Craig County, Highland County, Lexington, Rockbridge CountyStaunton and Waynesboro.


Old County Courthouse – Warm Springs 


Location:  12968 Sam Snead Highway / Mountain View Road

Built:  1841 – 1842

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Robert Johnson, William T Clark and Henry Van Buren

Contractor:  Robert Johnson, William T Clark and Henry Van Buren


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building sits on the landscaped grounds of a hill in the center of old section of Warm Springs to the north of the courthouse. The west front has a white colored verandah. The roof is hipped. The building is now the Warm Springs Inn.


History: The county was created in 1791 and Warm Springs was selected as the county seat in 1791. The court met at the home of Margaret Lewis and a log jail was erected in 1792 designed by John White, John Dean and Jacob Warrick and built by John Oliver and the upper story used by the court. The first courthouse was designed by John White and built in 1795 to 1796. The second courthouse was a brick structure built in 1841 to 1842 and still stands as the Warm Springs Inn. The third courthouse was constructed in 1907 to 1908. The architect was Frank P Milburn and the contractor was Phipps & Cooper at a cost of $41,000. The courthouse was destroyed by fire on November 22, 1912. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1913 to 1914 at a cost of $36,887.



County Courthouse – Warm Springs













Photos taken 2012