Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » West Virginia » Lincoln County

Lincoln County

Lincoln County is named for Abraham Lincoln, who was a member of Congress from Illinois ( 1847-1849 and President of the United States ( 1861-1865 ).


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Cabell CountyPutnam County and Boone County

E – Kanawha County

S – Logan County and Mingo County 

W – Wayne County


Created:  February 23, 1867                  Map of West Virginia highlighting Lincoln County

County Seat: 

Hamlin  1867 – present


County Courthouse – Hamlin 


Location:  8000 Court Avenue / Main Street

Built:  1963 – 1964

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Greife, Daley & Hoblitzell of Charleston

Contractor:  H B Agsten, Jr., Inc. of Charleston.


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Hamlin. The building has a recessed central entrance on the south side. Above the entrance is grillwork. The windows are vertical rising to the third story. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 25th Judicial Circuit, County Magistrate Court and County Family Court. 


See:  The 25th Judicial District includes Boone County.


History:  The county was created in 1867 and Hamlin was selected as the county seat. The first meeting of the Board of Supervisors was held in the Hamlin chapel on the Curry farm in 1867. The White Hall, a Southern Methodist Church was used for court sessions. The first courthouse was built in 1875. The second courthouse was designed and built by Falls Construction Company in 1911. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1963 to 1964.



County Courthouse – Hamlin









Photos taken 2012