Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » West Virginia » Logan County

Logan County

Logan County is named for Chief Logan, who was the leader of the Mingo Native American tribe


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lincoln County

E – Boone County

S – Wyoming County and Mingo County 

W – Mingo County 


Created:  January 12, 1824                    Map of West Virginia highlighting Logan County

County Seat: 

Logan  1823 – present


County Courthouse – Logan


Location:  300 Sratton Street / Washington Street

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Robert L Brown

Contractor:   Kenhill Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a four story concrete, stone and glass structure. The building is located in the center of Logan. The first story is recessed and is faced with polished stone. The second and third stories project from the main building. The four story is also recessed. The entrance is located at the west side of the north front. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 7th Judicial Circuit, County Magistrate Court and County Family Court. The cornerstone from the 1905 County Courthouse is incorporated into the foundation.


History:  The county was created in 1824 and Logan was selected as the county seat. The first meeting of the court was in a private home. The first courthouse was a log structure built in 1828 on Main Street near the Guyandotte River. The courthouse was damaged during a flood in 1862. The second courthouse was a wood structure built on the present courthouse site in 1862. The courthouse was burned during the Civil War in 1866 and the site was cleared but the third courthouse built by John William Strachan was not built until 1872 to 1875. The courthouse was torn down for the fourth courthouse which was a stone structure designed by Rabenstein & Warne and constructed by Litzt Garland & Company in 1904 to 1905. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1911. The fifth courthouse was designed by B F Smith and constructed by Falls City Construction Company in 1911 to 1912. The sixth and present courthouse was constructed in 1964 to 1965 at a cost of $1,687,432.



County Courthouse – Logan













Cornerstone 1905 County Courthouse

Photos taken 2012