Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Wisconsin » Barron County

Barron County

Barron County is named for Henry D Barron, who was a Wisconsin legislator and judge.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Burnett County and Washburn County

E – Rusk County

S – Chippewa County and Dunn County

W – Polk County


Created:  March 4, 1869                         Map of Wisconsin highlighting Barron County

County Seat: 

Barron 1869 – present


County Courthouse – Barron


Location:  330 East La Salle Avenue / South 3rd Street

Built:  1963

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Jane Hirsch & Associates

Contractor:  Keller Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story colored concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Barron. The west wing of the building is one story with the north and south main entrances on the east side, abutting the higher part of the building. There is a carillon on the grounds. The roof line is flat. The building houses the county administration. The building was renovated in 1989.The architect was Wayne E Spangler and the contractor was Northwest Builders, Inc.


County Justice Center – Barron



Location:  1420 Highway 25 North / Birch Avenue

Built:  2002 – 2004

Style:  Modern

Architect:  KKE Architects Inc.

Contractor:  Market & Johnson


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on spacious landscaped grounds on the northeast side of the center of Barron. The east front has a projecting center section with a high rectangular section on each side of the entrance which has a curved roof and glass panels. The building has a flat roof line. In the interior, the entrance lobby rises two stories with a large skylight above. There are three County Circuit Court courtrooms located on the north side of the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 10th Judicial District. 


See:  The 10th Judicial District includes Ashland CountyBayfield County, Burnett CountyChippewa County, Douglas CountyDunn County, Eau Claire CountyPolk County, Rusk County, Saint Croix County, Sawyer County and Washburn County


History:  The county was created in 1869 and Barron was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built on Courthouse Square in 1878 with a jail built across the street. The second courthouse was designed by Fremont D Orff and built by H O Olson & Company in 1901 at a cost of $38,000. The building was razed when the third and present courthouse was constructed in 1963 to 1964. The County Justice Center was constructed in 2002 to 2004.



County Courthouse – Barron
















Picture 1901 County Courthouse



County Justice Center – Barron

















Photos taken 2005, 2008, 2012 and 2022