Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Wisconsin » Chippewa County

Chippewa County

Chippewa County is named for the Ojibwe or Chippewa Native American people.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Barron County and Rusk County

E – Taylor County and Clark County

S – Eau Claire County

W – Dunn County and Barron County


Created:  February 3, 1845                    Map of Wisconsin highlighting Chippewa County

County Seat: 

Chippewa Falls  1845 – present


County Courthouse – Chippewa Falls


Location:  711 North Bridge Street / East Spruce Street

Built:  1951 – 1953

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Foeller, Schober, Berners, Safford & Jahn Architects of Green Bay

Contractor:  Hoeppner-Bartlett Company of Eau Claire


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story gray stone and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Chippewa Falls. The southwest front has entrance doors on the north and south. The windows are longer in size on the second story. The roof line is flat. On the east side is a semi-circular entrance with the Law Enforcement Center along the northeast side. In the interior, the long corridor runs northwest to southeast. There are four County District Court courthouses located on the second story which courtrooms have wood paneling. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 10th Judicial District. An addition was added on the northeast side in 1990 which preserved the existing structure. The architect was Seymour Davis Seymour Architects-Engineers Inc. and the contractor was Market and Johnson Inc.


See:  The 10th Judicial District includes Ashland CountyBarron County, Bayfield County, Burnett CountyDouglas CountyDunn County, Eau Claire CountyPolk County, Rusk County, Saint Croix County, Sawyer County and Washburn County


History:  The county was created in 1845 and Chippewa Falls was selected as the county seat. The first court met in Chippewa Falls in 1854. The first courthouse was a wood frame structure. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1872 to 18755 at a cost of $37,500. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1951 to 1953. An addition was constructed in 1990.



County Courthouse – Chippewa Falls























County Circuit Court courtroom











County Circuit Court courtroom







Photos taken 2007 and 2022