Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Wisconsin » Taylor County

Taylor County

Taylor County is named for William Robert Taylor, who was the Governor of Wisconsin from 1874 until 1876.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Rusk County and Price County

E – Lincoln County and Marathon County

S – Marathon County and Clark County

W – Chippewa County and Rusk County


Created:  March 4, 1875                         Map of Wisconsin highlighting Taylor County

County Seat: 

Medford  1875 – present


County Courthouse – Medford


Location:  224 South 2nd  Street / Clark Street

Built:  1913 – 1914

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  B Mehner

Contractor:  Hutter Construction Company of Fond du Lac


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building sits on a hill overlooking the center of Medford and is 105 feet by 65 feet. The first story is faced with white colored stone and the upper two stories are dark red colored brick. In the center is a large Roman dome with clock and copper roof on top of which is a small round cupola with copper top and containing a bell. In the interior, the walls in the halls and offices have marble and wood wainscotings respectively, with plaster surfaces above. Ornate wood moldings underscore the hall ceilings. Decorative metal posts and railings with wood banisters line the stairways. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the north side of the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 9th Judicial District. An addition was added on the south side in 1980. A further addition was constructed in 2001. The architect was Ayers Associates.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Taylor County Courthouse


See:  The 9th Judicial District includes Florence County, Forest County, Iron County, Langlade County, Lincoln County, Marathon County, Menominee County, Oneida CountyPortage County, Price CountyShawano County, Vilas County and Wood County.


History:  The county was created in 1875 and Medford was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story wooden structure built by E Perrine & Company in 1876 at a cost of $5,361. An addition was constructed in 1889. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1913 to 1914 at a cost of $60,000.



County Courthouse – Medford



















County Circuit Court courtroom





Pictures 1876 – 1889 – 1914 County Courthouses

Photos taken 2007 and 2008