Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Wisconsin » Lincoln County

Lincoln County

Lincoln County is named for Abraham Lincoln, who was President of the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Onieda County

E – Oneida County and Langlade County

S – Marathon County

W – Taylor County and Price County


Created:   March 4, 1874                        Map of Wisconsin highlighting Lincoln County

County Seat: 

Merrill  1874 – present


County Courthouse – Merrill


Location:  1110 East Main Street / South Central Avenue

Built:  1902 – 1903

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Van Ryn & De Gelleke

Contractor:  J English


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick, granite and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Merrill. The base is native Wisconsin brownstone; the first story is light-brown colored brick; and the second story and tower are salmon colored brick. The central south tower rises six stories with clock and silver colored dome at the top. There are arched windows on the second story. The steep hipped roof has large dormers. In the interior natural-wood fluted Ionic columns support beams in the central stairway, which has cast iron railings and stairs. The floor in the central rotunda under the dome has an elaborate floral pattern in the tiles. The rotunda rises to a skylight. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located in the northeast corner of the second story and has a curved ceiling and long mural high above the judge’s bench.. A second courtroom is located at the northwest corner of the second story and a third courtroom is located at the northwest corner of the first story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 9th Judicial District.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Lincoln County Courhouse


See:  The 9th Judicial District includes Florence County, Forest County, Iron County, Langlade County, Marathon County, Menominee County, Oneida CountyPortage County, Price CountyShawano County, Taylor County, Vilas County and Wood County.


History:  The county was created in 1874 and Merrill was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1876. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1902 to 1903.


County Courthouse – Merrill



























County Circuit Court courtroom

















County Circuit Court courtroom







Photos taken 2007, 2008 and 2022