Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Wisconsin » Florence County

Florence County

Florence County is named for Florence Hulst, who was the first woman pioneer in the region.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Iron County, Michigan and Dickinson County, Michigan

E – Dickinson County, Michigan and Marinette County

S – Marinette County and  Forest County

W – Forest County


Created:  March 18, 1882                       Map of Wisconsin highlighting Florence County

County Seat: 

Florence  1882 – present


County Courthouse – Florence


Location:  501 Lake Avenue / Cyclops Street

Built:  1887 – 1889

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  James E Clancy of Antigo

Contractor:  Wickert & Weber of Menasha


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story buff colored Wisconsin sandstone and brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Florence. The building has blue colored limestone trimming and a high pitched red colored roof with round turrets. The north front has a projecting covered porch on the first story. The eastern bay stretches upward three stories, terminating in a terra cotta topped gable, marked with a distinctive checkerboard pattern. Below the gable is located a Palladian motif framed by heavy stone trim. The interior spaces of the Courthouse building have been remarkably well maintained and contain handsome wood trim, an elaborate wood staircase and other fine appointments. On the second floor, preserved in much its original condition, is the main court chamber, containing many of the original furnishings. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 9th Judicial District. An addition was built in 1994. The architect was Martinson Architects and the contractor was Miron Construction. On the grounds is the Old County Jail built in 1889.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Florence County Courthouse and Jail


See:  The 9th Judicial District includes Forest County, Iron County, Langlade County, Lincoln County, Marathon County, Menominee County, Oneida CountyPortage County, Price CountyShawano County, Taylor County, Vilas County and Wood County.


History:  The county was created in 1882 and Florence was selected as the county seat. The court met at the Juneau Hall which served as the first courthouse. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1887 to 1889 at a cost of $13,000.



County Courthouse – Florence













County Circuit Court courtroom 







Old County Jail – Florence





Photos taken 2007 and 2015