Skip to content
Home » Canada Courthouses » Quebec » Arthabaska


Arthabaska Judicial District is named for the Cree word “athap-as-a-w” which means “grass or reeds here and there” in reference to Lake Arthabaska.


Palais de justice: 

N – Quebec District 

E – Frontenac District

S – Saint Francois District and Drummond District

W – Trois Rivieres District


District:  Arthabaska Judicial District

District Seat: 



Palais de justice – Victoriaville


Location:  800 Boulevard Bois Francs Sud / Rue Suzor Cote

Built:  1971 – 1973

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Lavigne and Marquis of Thetford Mines

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds. The entrance is on the southeast side of the southwest front. The windows are horizontal. On the northeast side the building has glass walls. The roof line is flat.


History:  The first Palais de justice was designed by Frederick Preston Rubidge of the Quebec Department of Public Works and was constructed by Henry Benson Sinclair of Quebec City and Joseph Skelsey of Montreal in 1859 to 1860. The building was demolished for construction of the present Palais de justice.



Palais de justice – Victoriaville













Photos taken 2016