Skip to content
Home » Canada Courthouses » Quebec » Charlevoix


Charlevoix Judicial District is named for Pierre Francois Xavier de Charlevoix, who was a French Jesuit explorer and historian.


Palais de justice: 

N – Saguenay District

E – Kamouraska District and Montmagny District

S – Quebec District 

W – Quebec District and Saguenay District


District:  Charlevoix Judicial District

District Seat: 

La Malbaie


Palais de justice – La Malbaie


Location:  30 Chemin de la Vallee / Rue du Souvenir

Built:  1858 – 1863

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Frederick Preston Rubidge of the Department of Public Works

Contractor:   Henry Benson Sinclair and Joseph Skelsey ( 1859 to 1860 ) and Simon Xavier Cimon ( 1860 to 1861 )


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story grey coloured stone structure. The building is located on spacious grounds at the top of a hill. The southwest front has a projecting centre section with central entrance and pediment at the roof line. The complex includes the prison.  An annex on the northeast side was designed by C A Lemay and constructed in 1930 to 1931. Another annex was designed by Blaise Marchand of the Quebec Department of Public Works in 1960 to 1961.


Note:  The architect, Frederick Preston Rubidge, designed other palais de justice located in Bedford Judicial District and Beauce Judicial District


Other Historic Palais de justice


Baie Saint Paul



Palais de justice – La Malbaie















Photos taken 2016