Skip to content
Home » Canada Courthouses » Quebec » Beauce


Beauce Judicial District is named for “Nouvelle Beauce” a seigneurie along the Chaudiere River or was the name chosen by seigneurs Joseph de Fleury de La Gorgendiere, Pierre  de Rigaud de Vaudreuil and Thomas-Jacques Taschereau recalling the French Beauce region.


Palais de justice: 

N – Quebec District and Montmagny District

E – Maine

S – Frontenac District 

W – Artabaska District and Quebec District 


District:  Beauce Judicial District

District Seat: 

Saint Joseph de Beauce


Palais de justice – Saint Joseph de Beauce


Location:  795 Avenue du Palais / Cote Taschereau

Built:  1859 – 1862

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Frederick Preston Rubidge of the Department of Public Works

Contractor:  Sinclair & Skelsey ( 1859 to 1860 ) and Augustin Trepanier ( 1860 to 1862 ).


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story grey coloured stone  structure. Artistic work was completed by Edouard Pelletier, Louis Pelletier and Michel Cote. An annex was co-designed by Georges St. Michel of the Quebec Department of Public Works in 1924.


See:  The architect  Frederick Preston Rubidge of the Department of Public Works also designed courthouses in Bedford District. Charlevoix District, Gatineau DistrictIberville DistrictJoliette District and Montmagny District.



Paslais de justice – Saint Joseph de Beauce

























Photos taken 2016