Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Iowa » Louisa County

Louisa County


Louisa County is named for Louisa Massey, who was a well known citizen because she avenged the murder of her brother when she shot the party responsible.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Johnson County and Muscatine County

E – Mercer County, Illinois

S – Des Moines County and Henry County

W – Henry County and Washington County


Created:  December 7, 1836                  Map of Iowa highlighting Louisa County

County Seat:

Lower Wapello   1836 – 1840

Middle Wapello  1840 – 1856

Wapello              1856 – present


County Courthouse – Wapello


Location:  117 South Main Street / Washington Street

Built:  1928 – 1929

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Keiffer, Jones and Thomas of Des Moines

Contractor:  Zohbon and Lewis of Des Moines


Description: The building faces east and is a two story buff colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Wapello. The front has vertical white colored bands dividing the windows. A white colored horizontal band runs below the flat roof line. There is a large eagle carved in the stone above on the east front. The building houses the County District Court of the 8B Judicial District. 


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Louisa County Courthouse


See:  The 8B Judicial District includes Des Moines CountyHenry County and Lee County.


History:  The county was created in 1836 and Lower Wapello was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a cottonwood log privately owned  structure built in 1836 in Lower Wapello. The county seat was moved to Middle Wapello in 1840 and the second courthouse, a brick structure was designed by John Rinearson and built in Middle Wapello at a cost of $1,300. The third courthouse was built by E B Isett in 1854 to 1855 at a cost of $9,578. The county seat became Wapello by incorporation in 1856. A courthouse was built in Columbus Junction in 1872 at a cost of $25,000 but was converted for use as a school when the county seat was not moved there. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1928 to 1929 at a cost of $100,000.



County Courthouse – Wapello













Photos taken 2008