Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Iowa » Scott County

Scott County


Scott County is named for Winfield Scott, who was the presiding officer at the signing of the peace treaty ending the Black Hawk War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Clinton County

E – Rock Island County, Illinois

S – Muscatine County

W – Cedar County and Jones County


Created:   December 21, 1837               Map of Iowa highlighting Scott County

County Seat:

Davenport  1838 – present


County Courthouse – Davenport


Location:  400 West 4th Street / Scott Street

Built:  1955 – 1956

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Dougher, Rich & Woodburn

Contractor:  Arthur Ebeling Associates.


Description: The building faces south and is a three story aluminum, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Davenport. The older section is located on the east side. The older section has a central entrance with stone trim. The annex was remodeled in 1973. The new Entrance Pavilion section on the west side, is a dark glass structure and was built in 2007 and was completed in 2008. The architect was Larrison and Associates and the contractor was Tricon Construction of Dubuque.


See:  The architect Dougher, Rich & Woodburn of Des Moines also designed courthouse in Buchanan County, Cass CountyHumboldt County, Jones County and Kossuth County. 


See:  The 7th Judicial District includes Cedar CountyClinton County, Jackson County and Muscatine County.


History:  The county was created in 1837 and Davenport was selected as the county seat in 1838. The first courthouse was built in 1842. The second courthouse was designed by J C Cochrane and John W Ross and built by Lang & Moody in 1886 at a cost of $125,000. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1955 to 1956 at a cost of $1,480,000.



County Courthouse – Davenport













Photos taken 2008