Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Iowa » Clinton County

Clinton County


Clinton County is named for DeWitt Clinton, who was a Governor of New York and an advocate for the construction of the Erie Canal.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Jackson County

E – Carroll County, Illinois, Whiteside County, Illinois and Rock Island County, Illinois

S – Scott County

W – Cedar County and Jones County


Created:  December 21, 1837                Map of Iowa highlighting Clinton County

County Seat:

Camache                    1840

Vanderburg ( DeWitt ) 1840 – 1869

Clinton                         1869 – present


County Courthouse – Clinton


Location:  612 North 2nd Street / 7th Avenue North

Built:  1896 – 1897

Style:   Romanesque

Architect:  G S Mansfield

Contractor:  G S La Veille and C A Moses


Description: The building faces east and is a four story red colored sandstone and granite structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Clinton. On the east front, the building has a one story portico having three stone arches on either side of a large arch and a flat stone roof. At each corner of the building is a round tower with conical roof. Each side has a projecting center section with fan window at the top and high gable at the roof line. On the center of the roof is a large square copper clock tower. The hipped roof has dormers. In the interior is a metal staircase ascending to the third story. The large courtroom is located on the second story and contains wood trim and a large mural above the judge’s bench. The building houses the County District Court of the 7th Judicial District.


County Justice Center – Clinton


Location:  612 North 2nd Street / 7th Avenue North

Built:  2019 – 2021

Style:   Modern

Architect:  Shiver-Hattery Inc.

Contractor:  Unknown


Description: The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square on the west side of the courthouse. The front has a central semi-circular entrance. The second story is recessed. The roof line is flat. The construction manager was The Samuels Group, Inc.


See:  The 7th Judicial District includes Cedar CountyJackson County, Jones CountyMuscatine County and Scott County.


History:  The county was created in 1837 and Camache was selected as the county seat in 1840 when the county was organized. The court operated from hotels and private residences in Camache. In 1840 the county seat was moved to Vanderburg (Dewitt). The first courthouse was a wood structure donated in 1841 for use as the courthouse. A second courthouse was built in 1854 at a cost of $6,000. In 1869 the county seat was moved to Clinton and the third courthouse was a two story structure built in Clinton in the same year. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1896 to 1897 at a cost of $168,000. The County Justice Center was constructed in 2019 to 2021. 



County Courthouse – Clinton










Photos taken 2008