Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Illinois » Whiteside County

Whiteside County

Whiteside County is named for Samuel Whiteside, who was a Representative in the first General Assembly, and was a Brigadier General in the Black Hawk War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Carroll County and Ogle County

E – Lee County

S – Bureau County and Henry County 

W – Rock Island County and Clinton County, Iowa


Created:  January 16, 1836                                                        Map of Illinois highlighting Whiteside County

County Seat:

Lyndon     1839 – 1841

Sterling    1841 – 1842

Lyndon     1842 – 1846

Sterling    1846 – 1857

Morrison  1857 – present


County Courthouse – Morrison


Location:  200 East Knox Street / North Cherry Street

Built:  1985 – 1986

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Phillips Swager Associates Inc. of Peoria

Contractor:  Richard J Prescott Construction Company of Sterling.


Description: The building faces south and is a two story dark red colored brick structure. The west front has large recessed rectangular glass windows on the first story and narrow horizontal windows on the second story. Above the entrance on the second story is a large glass bay-window. The roof line is flat.


See:  The 14th Judicial District includes Henry CountyMercer County and Rock Island County.


History:  The county was created in 1836 and the first courthouse was built in Lyndon in 1840. The second courthouse was built in Sterling in 1841. The third courthouse was designed by B S Foreman and constructed by John McKay in 1863 at a cost of $14,000. An addition was designed by W W Sanborn and constructed by Mason H Howell in 1883. The building was enlarged in 1941.



County Courthouse – Morrison





Photos taken 2007