Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kansas » Chase County

Chase County

Chase County is named for Salmon Portland Chase, who was a United States Senator from Ohio and a Kansas statehood advocate.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Morris County

E – Lyon County and Greenwood County

S – Greenwood County and Butler County

W – Marion County


Created:  February 11, 1859                   Map of Kansas highlighting Chase County

County Seat:

Cottonwood Falls  1859 – present


County Courthouse – Cottonwood Falls 


Location:  300 Pearl Street / Broadway

Built:  1871 – 1873

Style:  Louis XIII Renaissance and Second Empire

Architect:  John G Haskell of Lawrence

Contractor:  James Bannon of Leavenworth


Description: The building faces north and is a three story gray colored native limestone  structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Cottonwood Falls. The north front has a recessed center section with narrow arched entrance on the first story and three narrow vertical windows on the second story. The east and west sections have double arched windows with projected pediments above. A wide eave runs below the red colored mansard roof on the third story which has dormer windows. On the center of the roof is a square cupola with clock and red colored roof and small platform at the top. There is an ornamental iron fence along the roof line. The foundation is rough hewn limestone. In the interior, a piral staircase extends from the first story to the third storyThe large County District Court courtroom is located on the second story. There is a small courtroom. The old jail is on the second story of the rear section of the building. The building houses the County District Court of the 5th Judicial District.


Note:  The courthouse bell was hung in 1886.


See:  The courthouse is oldest courthouse in Kansas which is still in use as a courthouse. The second oldest courthouse is located in Pottawatomie County (1884), the third oldest courthouse is located in Gove County (1885) and the fourth oldest courthouse is located in Linn County (1886)


See:  The architect, John G Haskell, also designed courthouses in Douglas County and McPherson County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Chase County Courthouse


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Lyon County.


History:  The county was created in 1859 and Cottonwood Falls was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure erected soon after the county was created in 1859. The second and present courthouse was built in 1871 to 1873 at a cost of $42,600.



County Courthouse – Cottonwood Falls

























County District Court courtroom









Small Courtroom





Old Jail Cells











Photos taken 2010 and 2016