Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kansas » Shawnee County

Shawnee County

Shawnee County is named for the Shawnee American Native tribe out of whose lands the county was1 formed.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Jackson County

E – Jefferson County and Douglas County

S – Osage County

W – Wabaunsee County and Pottawatomie County


Created:  August 25, 1855                     Map of Kansas highlighting Shawnee County

County Seat:

Topeka  1858 – present


County Courthouse – Topeka 


Location:  200 SE 7th Street / Quincy Street

Built:  1963 – 1964

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Raymond A Coolidge and Philip Coolidge

Contractor:  M W Watson Inc.


Description:  The building faces north and is a four story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Topeka opposite the City Hall. On the south side is a central wing. The north front has a large canopy at the first story entrance. Horizontal bands of brick separate the stories with no windows towards the west end of the building. The large windows are horizontal. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County District Court courtrooms are located on the fourth story. The building houses the County District Court of the 3rd Judicial District. The building was remodelled in 1992. The architect was Ossman Associates, Inc. and the contractor was McPherson Construction.


Note:  Other companies involved in the construction of the present courthouse were Burgess Latimer & Miller, mechanical engineer, Stuart G Hazard, structural engineer, Sheahan & Degan Inc., mechanical contractor and Shrake Electric Company, electrical contractor.


History:  The county was created in 1855 and Tecumseh was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was erected in 1856. The county seat was moved to Topeka in 1858. The second courthouse was built at 4 th Street and Kansas Avenue in 1867. The third courthouse was designed by J C Holland and constructed by F E Stevenson Associates at 5th Street and Van Buren Avenue in 1896. The building was demolished when the fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1963 to 1965.


See:  Located in the county is the Kansas Supreme Court.



County Courthouse – Topeka









County District Court courtroom









Photos taken 2016