Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kansas » Wabaunsee County

Wabaunsee County

Wabaunsee County is named for Wabaunsee, who was Chief of the Potowatomi Native American tribe.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Pottawatomie County

E – Shawnee County and Osage County

S – Lyon County

W – Morris CountyGeary County and Riley County


Created:  August 30, 1855                     Map of Kansas highlighting Wabaunsee County

County Seat:

Wabaunsee  1855 – 1866

Alma             1866 – present


County Courthouse – Alma  


Location:  215 Kansas Avenue / West 3rd Street

Built:  1931 – 1932

Style:  Art Deco and Classical Revival

Architect:  W E Glover of Topeka

Contractor:  Shuss & Henderson of Larned


Description:  The building faces east and is a four story gray colored limestone and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Alma. The building has a raised ashlar basement as the first story and is poured-in-place concrete construction with dressed Carthage stone veneer. There are square columns and ornamented window spandrels. Lining the primary east facade are ten geometric columns with square shafts and stylized fluted capitals rising to the top of the third story. The windows on the fourth story are square. Window spandrels, which feature stylized floral motifs set within octagonal medallions, separate the first and second-floor windows at the north, south and east facades. Metal frame doors with transoms have ornamental grillwork. The roof line is flat defined by a parapet with zigzag detailing. The interior finishes consist of terrazzo floors, plaster walls and cornices, wood doors and trim, marble wainscoting and staircase, acoustical ceiling tiles, terrazzo stair treads and risers, and decorative iron balustrades at the south staircases. The County District Court courtroom is located on the west side of the second story. The courtroom has a vaulted ceiling and woodwork.The building houses the County District Court of the 2nd Judicial District. The jail is located on the fourth story. 


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Wabaunsee County Courthouse


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Jackson CountyJefferson County and Pottawatomie County.


History:  The county was created in 1855 and Wabaunsee was selected as the county seat. In 1866, the county seat was moved to Alma. The first courthouse was a two story stone structure erected by Fred Link, Fritz Volmer and George Bender in 1872 at a cost of S8,000. An addition was added in 1893. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1931 to 1932 at a cost of $164,989.



County Courthouse – Alma























County District Court courtroom















Photos taken 2010 and 2023