Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kentucky » Webster County

Webster County

Webster County is named for Daniel Webster, who was the United States Secretary of State from 1841 to 1843 and from 1850 to 1852.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Union County and Henderson County

E – McLean County

S – Hopkins County

W – Crittenden County and Union County


Created:  February 29, 1860                  Map of Kentucky highlighting Webster County

County Seat: 

Dixon  1860 – present


County Courthouse – Dixon 


Location:  35 Highway 41A (Main Street) / Highway 132

Built:  1939 – 1941

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:   Lawrence Casner of Madisonville

Contractor:  Russell Petrie


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story poured concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Dixon. The building has a raised basement. The west front has four large concrete pillars forming three rectangular arches, with the entrance in the centre of the first story. Above the arches is a clock. Two large Art Deco lamp are on either side of the wide steps. In the interior, the first story has a central hallway running from the entrance to the rear. The floor and half way up the walls are covered with green colored two-tone marble tiles. The second story has the courtroom and the old jail was housed on the third story. The building was a Works Project Administration project. 


Note:  Works Project Administration provided a grant of $143,000. The courthouse is similar to the courthouse in Caldwell County.


See:  The architect,  Lawrence Casner of Madisonville, designed the courthouses in Caldwell County and Hopkins County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Webster County Courthouse


County Judicial Center – Dixon 



Location:  37 Highway 41A (Main Street) / Segal Street

Built:  2004 – 2005

Style:  Modern

Architect:   Michael F Barton

Contractor:  Codell Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story poured concrete structure like the courthouse which is on the north side in the center of Dixon.. At the west front are three large rectangular arches with glass windows. This front section extends from the main building. On the flat roofline is a decorative cornice. The building houses the County Circuit Court and County District Court of the 5th Judicial District. 


See:  The contractor was Codell Construction Company of Winchester which company constructed many courthouse in Kentucky ( see  Louisville ).


See:  The 5th Judicial Circuit includes Crittenden CountyUnion County and Webster County.


History:  The county was created in 1860 and Dixon was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1861 and was demolished in 1939 when the second and present courthouse was constructed in 1939 to 1941 at a cost of $143,000. The County Judicial Center was constructed in 2004 to 2005 at a cost of $3,500,000.



County Courthouse – Dixon













County Judicial Center – Dixon



Photos taken 2007