Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kentucky » Union County

Union County

Union County is named for the unanimous decision of the residence of the county to form their own county from part of Henderson County.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Posey County, Indiana

E – Henderson County and Webster County

S – Webster County and Crittenden County

W – Hardin County, Illinois and Gallatin County, Illinois


Created:  January 15, 1811                    Map of Kentucky highlighting Union County

County Seat: 

Morganfield  1811 – present


County Courthouse –  Morganfield 


Location:  121 South Morgan Street / West Main Avenue

Built:  1872 – 1873

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  J K Frick of Evanston, Indiana

Contractor:  A B Weaver, G E Bell, G W Fallon and William Brown


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Morganfield. The building has a stone foundation. The north front has white colored stone trim framing the recessed entrance. Above the entrance are three arched windows with larger single arched windows on either side. White colored wood trim frame the gable with white colored circle and the roof is hipped. The other windows are arched. On the east and west sides, the building extends outward. In the interior, a wide hall bisects the first story and is crossed at two points by narrower halls that have arched openings. On the south side, a flight of spiral staircases ascend to the second story. The stairs are green colored terrazzo and the handrails and balustrades are brass. The courtroom is located at the north end of the second story and is 52 feet by 70 feet. The building houses the County Circuit Court and County District Court of the 5th Judicial District. The buildsing was doubled in size in 1940. 


See:  The architect, J K Frick of Evanston, Indiana, also designed the courthouse in Christian County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Union County Courthouse


See:  The 5th Judicial Circuit includes Crittenden County, Union County and Webster County.


History:  The county was created in 1811 and Morganfield was selected as the county seat. The first county courthouse was a one and a half story log structure built in 1811 to 1812. The second courthouse was built in 1819 to 1820 at a cost of $3800. That courthouse was destroyed during the Civil War. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1871-1872.



County Courthouse – Morganfield  





Photos taken 2007