Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Illinois » Gallatin County

Gallatin County

Gallatin County is named for Albert Gallatin, who was a financier and member of Congress from Pennsylvania.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – White County

E – Posey County, Indiana and Union County, Kentucky

S – Hardin County

W – Saline County


Created:  September 14, 1812                                                   Map of Illinois highlighting Gallatin County

County Seat:

Shawneetown  1812 – 1827

Equality            1827 – 1848

Shawneetown  1848 – present


County Courthouse – Shawneetown


Location:  484 North Lincoln Boulevard / McClemand Avenue

Built:  1938 – 1939

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Housing Authority of Gallatin County

Contractor:  Works Progress Administration with local trades


Description: The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The south front has three large recessed panels divided by white colored stone, with the entrance in the center panel. The roof is almost flat and sections on the east and west extend from the main building. The large courtroom is located in the center of the building on the first story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 2nd Judicial Circuit. The building was constructed under the Works Progress Administration.


See:  The 2nd Judicial Circuit includes Crawford County, Edwards CountyFranklin County, Hamilton County, Hardin County, Jefferson CountyLawrence County, Richland County, Wabash CountyWayne County and White County.


History:  The county was created in 1812 and Shawneetown was selected as the county seat. The court first met in a residence and the first courthouse was erected in 1815. In 1827, the county seat was moved to Equality and in 1848, moved back to Shawneetow. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure erected in 1858. Due to a severe flood in 1937, the third and present courthouse was located in New Shawneetown and constructed in 1938 to 1939.



County Courthouse – Shawneetown 









County Circuit Court courtroom







Commission Minutes – construction

Photos taken 2007 and 2012