Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Illinois » Hardin County

Hardin County

Hardin County is named for John Hardin, who was an officer in the Continental Army during the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Saline County and Gallatin County

E – Union County, Kentucky and Crittenden County, Kentucky

S – Crittenden County, Kentucky and Livingston County, Kentucky

W – Pope County


Created:  March 2, 1839                                                             Map of Illinois highlighting Hardin County

County Seat:

Elizabethtown  1840 – present


County Courthouse – Elizabethtown


Location:  Main Street / Market Street

Built:  1921 – 1926

Style:  Georgian Revival

Architect:  Thomas S Thompson

Contractor:  George A Corder & Karber


Description: The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building sits at the top of a sloping hill on landscaped grounds in the center of Elizabethtown. The south entrance has an arch with recessed doorway. A small cornice runs below the roof liner. Above the entrance on the roof is a square brick tower with clock. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 2nd Judicial Circuit. 


See:  The 2nd Judicial Circuit includes Crawford County, Edwards CountyFranklin County, Gallatin CountyHamilton County, Jefferson CountyLawrence County, Richland County, Wabash CountyWayne County and White County.


History:  The county was created in 1839 and Elizabethtown was selected as the county seat in 1840. The first courthouse was a wood structure. The second courthouse was a brick structure which burned in 1884. The third courthouse was built using the plans of the second courthouse in 1889. The courthouse burned in 1821. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1921 to 1926.



County Courthouse – Elizabethtown



Photos taken 2008