Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Quitman County

Quitman County

Quitman County is named for John A Quitman, who was the tenth Governor of the State of Mississippi.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Tunica County

E – Panola County and Tallahatchie County

S – Tallahatchie County

W – Coahoma County


Created:  February 1, 1877                                                        Map of Mississippi highlighting Quitman County

County Seat: 

Marks   1877 – 1883

Belen    1883 – 1910

Marks   1910 – present


County Courthouse – Marks 


Location:  220 Chestnut Street / Peach Street

Built:  1910 – 1911

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Chamberlain and Company of Birmingham, Alabama

Contractor:  Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick, concrete and stone structure. The building is located on spacious and treed grounds in the center of Marks. The west front has a large porch with eight large columns rising to a wide header at the roof line. Above the entrance is a small balcony on the second story. Above the header is a wide platform from which rises a large circular dome with crown-like edges. In the interior, the County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 11th Judicial District, County Chancery Court and County Youth Court. To the south is the County Justice Court.


Note:  The present courthouse is similar in design to the Crittenden County courthouse in Arkansas. The architect and contractor were the same.


See:  The 11th Judicial District includes Bolivar County, Coahoma County and Tunica County.


History:  The county was created in 1877 and Marks was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was the residence of Thomas Hill in Marks. In 1883, the county seat was moved to Belem and the second courthouse was built in Belem in 1894. The courthouse burned in 1908. The county seat was returned to Marks in 1910. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1910 to 1911.



County Courthouse – Marks















County Circuit Court courtroom















Belen County Courthouse 1894

Photos taken 2012 and 2017