Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Wayne County

Wayne County

Wayne County is named for Anthony Wayne, who was a general in the American Revolutionary War, and who lived from 1745 to 1796.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Jasper County and Clarke County

E – Choctaw County, Alabama and Washington County, Alabama

S – Greene County

W – Jones County


Created:  December 21, 1809                                                    Map of Mississippi highlighting Wayne County

County Seat: 

Winchester    1809 – 1867

Waynesboro  1867 – present


County Courthouse – Waynesboro 


Location:  609 Azalea Drive / Turner Street

Built:  1935 – 1936

Style:  Art Deco and  Moderne

Architect:  E L Malvaney of Jackson

Contractor:  I C Gaber and Son


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a four story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Waynesboro. The southeast front has a projecting first story with recessed central entrance. Vertical pilasters divide the recessed windows on the second and third stories. The fourth story is recessed and has vertical windows. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 10th Judicial District, County Chancery Court and County Youth Court. The west wing was added in 1988 to 1992. The architect was Chris Risher and the contractor was J & J Contractors, Inc. A one story Annex was constructed on the northeast side in 1967. The architect was Charles N Clark Associates Ltd. and John C Suffling and the contractor was L B Priester and Son, Inc.


See:  The 10th Judicial District includes Clarke County, Lauderdale County.


History:  The county was created in 1809 and Winchester was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built of pine lumber in Winchester in 1822. The county seat was moved to Waynesboro in 1867 and the second courthouse was built. The courthouse burned and the third courthouse was built by Charles M Rubush in 1893. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1935 to 1936.



County Courthouse – Waynesboro









County Circuit Court courtroom









County Courthouse Annex – Waynesboro





Photos taken 2012