Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Alabama » Choctaw County

Choctaw County


Choctaw County is named for the Choctaw Native American people who resided in the region.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Sumter County

E – Marengo County and Clarke County

S – Washington County

W – Wayne County, Mississippi and Clarke County, Mississippi


Created:  December 29, 1847                                                    Map of Alabama highlighting Choctaw County

County Seat:

Barrytown  1847 – 1848

Butler         1848 – present


County Courthouse – Butler


Location:  117 Mulberry Avenue / West Pushmarahast Street

Built:  1906 – 1907

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  William S Hull of Jackson, Mississippi

Contractor:  Hueber Brothers


Description:  The building  faces east and is a two story buff colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Butler. The east front has a portico with three brick arches on the first story and four white colored columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. Wide white colored eaves run along the roof line. In the interior, the hallways have white colored title wainscoting along the lower half. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located at the center of the second story on the west side and has light colored wood paneling on the lower walls. There is a curved gallery along the rear with railings. A small courtroom is located on the west side of the addition on the second story. The building houses the Circuit Court of the 1st Judicial Circuit and the County District Court and County Probate Court. The architect was William S Hull of Jackson, Mississippi and the contractor was Hueber Brothers. The building was renovated and an addition constructed in 1955 to 1956. The architect was L L Brasfield and the contractor was Moody & Webb. Wings were added on the north and south sides in 1965. The architect was James F Hurd and the contractor was F B Bear Construction Corporation.


See:  The architect, William S Hull of Jackson also designed courthouses in Alabama in Bibb County and in Mississippi in Covington County, Forrest County, Jefferson Davis County, Perry CountyPike CountySharkey County and Tallahatchie County.


See:  The 1st Judicial Circuit includes Clarke County and Washington County.


History: The county was created in 1847 and Barrytown was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure erected in Barrytown in 1842 before the county was created. In 1848, the county seat was moved to Butler and the second courthouse was built in that year. The building burned in 1870 and the third courthouse was built. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1906 to 1907.


See:  The first county courthouse is located at the Choctaw County Historical Museum in Gilbertown,  The courthouse was originally located in Barrytown to the southeast.



County Courthouse – Butler



















County Circuit Court courtroom















County Circuit Court small courtroom













First County Courthouse – Gilbertown







Photos taken 2009 and 2023