Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Alabama » Sumter County

Sumter County


Sumter County is named for Thomas Sumter, who was a United States legislator.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Pickens County

E – Greene County and Marengo County

S – Choctaw County

W – Lauderdale CountyMississippi, Kemper County, Mississippi and Noxubee County, Mississippi


Created:  December 18, 1832                                                    Map of Alabama highlighting Sumter County

County Seat:        

Livingston  1832 – present


County Courthouse – Livingston


Location:  115 Franklin Street / Lafayette Street

Built:  1902 – 1903

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Ausfield & Chapman

Contractor:  C H Dabbs & Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of Courthouse Square in the center of Livingston. The north front has an arched entrance in the center with small balcony above. There are arched windows on the second story. On the center of the roof is a square white colored cupola with silver colored dome. The base of the building is stone. In the interior are grand wooden stairs. The large County Circuit Court courtroom is located at the center pf the second story and has a high ceiling. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 17th Judicial Circuit and the County District Court and County Probate Court. The building was renovated from 2001 to 2002. The contractor was H & W Construction Inc. of Northport. On the south side of the courthouse is the one story red colored brick Courthouse Annex constructed in 1977.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Sumter County Courthouse


See:  The 17th Judicial Circuit includes Greene County and Marsngo County.


History:  The county was created in 1832 and Livingston was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in Livingston in 1833. The second courthouse was built in 1838 and collapsed while all the personnel were out to lunch. The third courthouse was a frame structure which burned in 1901. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1902 to 1903.



County Courthouse – Livingston

























County Circuit Court courtroom

























County Courthouse Annex – Livingston







Photos taken 2010, 2018 and 2023