Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Alabama » Washington County

Washington County


Washington County is named for George Washington, who was the first President of the United States from 1789 to 1797.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Choctaw County

E – Clarke County and Baldwin County

S – Mobile County

W – Greene County, Mississippi and Wayne County, Mississippi


Created:  June 4, 1800                                                               Map of Alabama highlighting Washington County

County Seat:        

St. Stephens  1800 – 1907

Chatom          1907 – present


County Courthouse – Chatom


Location:  45 Court Street / Central Avenue

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  T Cooper Van Antwerp of Mobile

Contractor:  F B Bear Jr. of Montgomery


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Chatom. The east front has a recessed central entrance with a dark red colored marble slab running up to the roof line. On either side of the marble are red colored brick walls and on either side of them are large white colored concrete grill panels with a large window on the north and south. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 1st Judicial Circuit and the Couny District Court and County Probate Court. The building was renovated in 2000 to 2001. The architect was Hall-Baubauer Architects of Mobile and the contractor was Hagan Construction Company, Inc. of Montgomery. On the south side is the Frank Turner Hall which houses the County Administration.


Old County Courthouse – St Stephens



Location:  County Road 34 – St. Stephens Avenue / Howell Road

Built:  1853 – 1854

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Levin Jefferson Wilson

Contractor:  Levin Jefferson Wilson


Description:  The building faces west and  is a two story white colored wood frame structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds. The front has a two story porch with central entrance on the first story. The roof is hipped. The building served as the courthouse from 1854 to 1907. 


See:  The 1st Judicial Circuit includes Choctaw County and Clarke County.


History:  The county was created in 1800 and St Stephens was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story wood frame structure built by Levin Jefferson Wilson in St Stephens in 1853 to 1854 and is still standing. The county seat was moved to Chatom in 1907. The second courthouse was designed by William S Hull and constructed by Southern Structural Steel Company in Chatom in 1908 to 1909. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1964 to 1965.



County Courthouse – Chatom

















Picture 1908 County Courthouse



Cornerstone 1908 County Courthouse



Frank Turner Hall ( Administration ) – Chatom







Old County Courthouse – St Stephens













Photos taken 2009 and 2020