Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Carolina » Davidson County

Davidson County

Davidson County is named for William Lee Davidson, was an American Revolutionary War general and who was mortally wounded at Cowan’s Ford.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Forsyth County

E – Guilford County  and Randolph County

S – Montgomery County

W – Rowan County and Davie County


Created:  December 9, 1822                  Map of North Carolina highlighting Davidson County

County Seat: 

Lexington  1822 – present


Old County Courthouse – Lexington  


Location:  2 South Main Street / Center Street

Built:  1857 – 1858

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  William Ashley

Contractor:  George Dudley


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a wo story gray colored stuccoed stone structure. The building is located on the Courthouse Square in the downtown in the center of Lexington. The southeast front has a large porch with six Roman Corinthian columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. Above is a square white colored wood cupola with clock. The roof is hipped. In the interior is a stair hall at the entrance with broad stairs featuring newels and heavy turned balustrades. On the second story is a rectangular shaped courtroom with sloping floor and windows on either side divided by fluted pilasters In 1865 the interior was burned. The building was restored in 1867. The building is now the Davidson County Historical Museum.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Davidson Couny Courthouse


County Courthouse – Lexington  



Location:  110 West Center Street / Vance Circle

Built:  1957 – 1958

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Echols – Sparger & Associates

Contractor:  Wagoner Construction Company.


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story gray colored concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Lexington. The southwest front has as a central recessed entrance on the second story. On the north side are vertical dividers and on the south side is a clock. The first story is entered on the north side. The roof line is flat.  An addition was constructed in 2019 to 2021 with a three story red colored brick and glass rectangular section on the west side and a wall along the south side. The interior has seven courtrooms. The building houses the County Superior Court and County District Court of the 22nd Judicial District. The architect was Ramsay Burgin Smith Architects and the contractor was Barnhill Construction Company of Raleigh.


See:  The 22nd Judicial District includes Alexander CountyDavie County and Iredell County


History:  The county was created in 1822 and Marionn was selected as the county seat. The county seaqt was moved to Lexington. The first courthouse was built in 1825. The second courthouse built in 1857  to 1858 is considered the finest constructed in the antebellum period. The courthouse interior was burned by Union troops during the Civil War in 1865 and rebuilt in 1867. The courthouse is still standing. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1957 to 1958. An addition was constructed in 2019 to 2021.



Old County Courthouse – Lexington













County Courthouse – Lexington









Photos taken 2012