Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Dakota » Hettinger County

Hettinger County


Hettinger County is named for Mathias K Hettinger (1810-1890 ), a citizen of Freeport, Illinois and  father-in-law of Erastus A. Williams, Speaker of the House of Representatives.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Stark County

E – Grant County

S – Adams County 

W – Slope County


Created:  January 4, 1873                      Map of North Dakota highlighting Hettinger County

County Seat:  

Mott  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Mott


Location:  336 Pacific Avenue / West 4th Street

Built:  1934 – 1936

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  A J Weinberger

Contractor:  Ritterbush Brothers


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Mott. Above the central east entrance of the building is a series of long vertical glass windows. The building has Kasota, Minnesota, limestone sheath. The north and south wings are two stories and extend from the building. The roof line is flat. In the interior, a three-story shaft is formed by the void between the staircase and the central bank of windows on the front. Marble forms the exterior walls on the entry vestibule and main hall. The hallways on the other floors are finished with plaster. Rich wood paneling decorates the County District Court courtroom located on the west side if the second story. The paneling and bar have horizontal overlays of various of woods. The third story houses the jail. The building houses the County District Court of the Southwest Judicial District.


See: Other Art Deco style courthouses are located in Burleigh County, Emmons CountyRansom County, Sheridan County, Stark County and Walsh County.


See: National Register of Historic Places – Hettinger County Courthouse


See:  The Southwest Judicial District includes Adams County, Billings CountyBowman County, Dunn CountyGolden Valley CountySlope County and Stark County.


History:  The county was created in 1907 and Mott was selected as the county seart. The first courthouse was a two story wood frame structure built by John A Ulberg in 1907. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1934 to 1936.



County Courthouse – Mott

























Lasst Buffalo Hunt





County District Court courtroom











Photos taken 2007, 2009 and 2023