Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Dakota » Sheridan County

Sheridan County


Sheridan County is named for General Phillip Henry Sheridan, who was an American Civil War hero.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – McHenry County and Pierce County 

E – Wells County

S – Kidder County and Burleigh County

W – McLean County


Created:  December 4, 1908                  Map of North Dakota highlighting Sheridan County

County Seat: 

McClusky  1909 – present


County Courthouse – McClusky


Location:  215 2nd Street East / Avenue B East

Built:  1938 – 1939

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Ira L Rush of Minot

Contractor:  P H Schwarts


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story concrete and reinforced steel structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of McClusky. The building is 52 feet by 88 feet and was a Works Project Administration project. There is a projecting center section with the entrance at the center of the first story. The roof line is flat. In the interior is an entrance lobby on the first story with stairs on the east side ascending to the third story. The County District Court courtroom is located on the west side of the third story and has two overhead lights which show some Moderne influence. Behind the judge’s bench was a painting of the idealized character Justice and it has been replaced with a green colored screen. The building houses the County District Court of the South Central Judicial District.


See:  The architect,  Ira L Rush of Minot, also designed the courthouses in Adams County, Burleigh County and Ransom County.


See: Other Art Deco style courthouses are located in Burleigh County, Emmons CountyHettinger County, Ransom County, Stark County and Walsh County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Sheridan County Courthouse


See:  The South Central Judicial District includes Burleigh CountyEmmonds County, Grant County, McLean County, Mercer County, Morton CountyOliver County and Sioux County.


History:  The county was created in 1909 and McClusky was selected as the county seat in 1909. The city of McClusky furnished a building, rent free, on Main Street for a temporary first courthouse until the new courthouse was built. The second courthouse was built in 1909 to 1910. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1938 to 1939 at a cost of $88,260.



County Courthouse – McClusky



















County District Court courtroom















County Commissioner Minutes



Picture 1909 County Courthouses



Photos taken 2009, 2012 and 2024