Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Dakota » Ransom County

Ransom County

Ransom County is named for General Thomas Edward Greenfield Ransom (1834 – 1864), who died for the Union in the Civil War.


Surroundinf County Courthouses: 

N – Barnes County and Cass County

E – Richland County

S – Sargent County

W – LaMoure County


Created:  January 4, 1873                   Map of North Dakota highlighting Ransom County  

County Seat:  

Lisbon  1881 – present


County Courthouse – Lisbon


Location:  204 5th Avenue West / Elm Street

Built:  1938

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Ira L Rush of Minot

Contractor:  H L Stavn Company of Minot


Description: The building faces south and is three story gray colored limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Lisbon. The south center portico rises above the entrance to the third story with carved stone at the top. The west and east ends of the building are recessed. The roof line is flat. The building rests upon a granite base, and load bearing hollow tile backs up the Bedford stone exterior. In the interior, the floors are finished with terrazzo. Marble wainscoting accompanies stairs, bathrooms, and public corridors. The visual lines of the County District Court courtroom located on the north side of the third story continue the exterior Deco styling. The walls convey vertical lines; lines on the wood paneling behind the judge’s bench are on a diagonal; and the hanging light fixtures carry horizontal lines. The building houses the County District Court of the Southeast Judicial District.


See:  The architect,  Ira L Rush of Minot, also designed the courthouses in Adams County, Burleigh County and Sheridan County.


See: Other Art Deco style courthouses are located in Burleigh County, Emmons CountyHettinger County, Sheridan County, Stark County and Walsh County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Ransom County Courthouse


See:  The Southeast Judicial District includes Barnes CountyDickey County, Eddy County, Foster County, Griggs CountyKidder County, LaMoure CountyLogan CountyMcIntosh County, Richland County, Sargent CountyStutsman County and Wells County.


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Lisbon was selected as the county seat in 1881 when the county was organized. The county used rented premises. The first courthouse was a two story structure built in 1887. An addition was constructed in 1898. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1838.



County Courthouse – Lisbon




















County District Court courtroom













Photos taken 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2018