Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Dakota » Sargent County

Sargent County

Sargent County is named for H E Sargent, general manager of the Northern Pacific Railroad and who was interested in the development of the agricultural interests of the Red River Valley.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Ransom County

E – Richland County

S – Marshall County, South Dakota

W – Dickey County


Created: April 9, 1873                            Map of North Dakota highlighting Sargent County

County Seat:  

Milnor    1883 – 1884

Forman  1884 – present


County Courthouse – Forman


Location: 355 Main Street South / Court Street

Built:  1910 – 1911

Style:  Classical Revival  and Beaux Arts

Architect:  Buechner & Orth of St. Paul, Minnesota

Contractor:  A C Thomas


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story buff brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Formany. The building has a raised basement and a projecting east portico with two large columns rising to the pediment at the roof line. The base of the building is brown colored brick. Rectangular windows throughout have sandstone sills and second floor windows have sandstone heads. The area between windows of the second and third floors is embellished with rectangular and lozenge-shaped corbeling. The building has octagonal dome in the center and inside the dome are four separate paintings depicting various themes of the county. In 1997 the renowned artist Del Iron was commissioned to recreate the murals. The skylight of geometric stained glass is naturally illuminated. Pink terrazzo and pink marble floors remain on the first floor and the main entry area. The County District Court courtroom is located at the southwest corner of the third story where a county seal mural remains over the judge’s bench. The building houses the County District Court of the Southeast Judicial District. In 1998, an addition was constructed on the west side. The architect was Les Bjore of Battle Lake, Minnesota.


See:  The architect Buechner & Orth of St. Paul, Minnesota designed many courthouses. The courthouse in Mountrail County was modeled after this courthouse.


See:  National: register of Historic Places – Sargent County Courthouse


See:  The Southeast Judicial District includes Barnes CountyDickey County, Eddy County, Foster County, Griggs CountyKidder County, LaMoure CountyLogan CountyMcIntosh County, Ransom CountyRichland County, Stutsman County and Wells County.


History:  The county was created in 1883 and Milnor was designated as the county seat. In 1884 the county seat was moved to Forman and the first courthouse was the Groff Building on the second story. The second courthouse was a two story structure built on the site of the present City Hall in 1888 and was demolished in 1947. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1910 to 1911.



County Courthouse – Forman



























County District Court courtroom















Photos taken 2006, 2009 and 2018