Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Dakota » Stutsman County

Stutsman County

Stutsman County is named for Enos Stutsman of Yankton, South Dakota and Pembina, North Dakota (1826-1874), who was a powerful political leader in the early days of the Dakota Territory despite being severely handicapped with badly deformed legs.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Wells County and Foster County

E – Griggs County and Barnes County

S – LaMoure County and Logan County 

W – Kidder County 


Created:  January 4, 1873                      Map of North Dakota highlighting Stutsman County
County Seat:
Jamestown  1873 – present


County Courthouse – Jamestown


Location:  511 2nd Avenue Southeast / 6th Street Southeast
Built:  1981 – 1982
Style:  Modern
Architect:  Dura and Associates
Contractor:  Moline Construction, Inc.


Description: The building faces west and is a two story concrete and glass structure. Landscaped grounds surround the building and the old courthouse is located at the northeast corner of the grounds in the center of Jamestown. The building juts out with sharp angles. There are no windows but large dark glass sections are along the east entrance. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the second story has two County District Court courtrooms along the south side. The building houses the County District Court of the Southeast Judicial District.


Old County Courthouse – Jamestown



Location:  504 3rd Avenue Southeast / 5th Street Southeast

Built:  1882 – 1883

Style:  Gothic Revival

Architect:  Henry C Koch of Milwaukee

Contractor:  Edward D Lathrop of Lathrop and Brackett


Description: The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Jamestown to the northeast of the courthouse. At the northeast corner is a high square brick tower with steep roof. The building has an ashlar granite foundation. Along the sides are projecting sections with peaked roof and circular window on the third story. The roof is hipped. In the interior, the hallway on the first story runs east-west. The former courtroom occupies most of the second story with high ceiling and gallery on the east side. In 1926, a west wing was constructed. The architect was Gilbert R Horton of Jamestown.


Note:  The courthouse is the oldest courthouse in North Dakota. In 1904 to 1905, a sheriff’s residence was constructed on the south side of the courthouse. The oldest courthouse which is still in use is located in Kidder County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Stutsman County Courthouse and Sheriff’s Residence / Jail


See:  The Southeast Judicial District includes Barnes CountyDickey County, Eddy County, Foster County, Griggs CountyKidder County, LaMoure CountyLogan CountyMcIntosh County, Ransom CountyRichland County, Sargent County and Wells County.


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Jamestown was selected as the county seat. The county used rented premises until the first courthouse was built in 1882 to 1883. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1981 to 1982.



County Courthouse – Jamestown















County District Court courtroom











County District Court courtroom









Old County Courthouse – Jamestown



















Old courtroom





















Photos taken 2007, 2010, 2018 and 2023