Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Marshall County

Marshall County


Marshall County is named for Marshall Vincent, who was a homesteader near Andover.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Sargent County, North Dakota

E – Roberts County

S – Day County

W – Brown County


Created:  May 2, 1885                            Map of South Dakota highlighting Marshall County

County Seat:

Britton  1885 – present


County Courthouse – Britton


Location:  911 Vander Horck Street / 9th Avenue

Built:   1907 – 1908

Style:  Second Renaissance Revival

Architect:  Bell & Detweiler ( Charles E Bell of Minneapolis, Minnesota )

Contractor:  Wold and Johnson


Description:  The building faces north and is three story gray colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Britton. The sandstone on each of the three stories has a different finish. The first floor is rock-faced and the second floor is polished. The third floor is also polished but features prominent rusticated quoins that distinguish the third floor from the second. The three stories are divided by a molded belt course with a main cornice along the roof line. The north front has an arched entrance on the first story and two columns on the third story with a raised semi-circular window above. On the east and west are square towers with green colored roofs. In the center of the building is a square dome with clock and copper roof. The interior retains nearly all of its original distinctive features. The floors are marble with some tile decoration, including a mosaic inside the front entrance that reads “Marshall County.” The staircases have decorative metal balusters and newels with wood handrails. Paintings in the dome above the third floor were painted at the time of construction by artist Will Pease. Other murals in the Sheriffs and Assessor’s offices were painted by Tino Walking Bull in 1963. The second story has the County Commissioners meeting room. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the west side of the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 5th Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court. 


See:  The architects, Charles E Bell and Meno S Detweiler of Minneapolis, Minnesota designed many courthouses.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Marshall County Courthouse


See:  The 5th Judicial Circuit includes Brown CountyCampbell County, Day County, Edmunds CountyFaulk CountyMcPherson CountyRoberts County, Spink County and Walworth County.              


History:  The county was created in 1885 and Britton was selected as the county seat. The county occupied offices in various Main Street buildings. In 1896, the county purchased the Arlington Hotel which had been constructed by George L Baker in 1884 and the hotel became the first courthouse. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1907 to 1908 at a cost of $52,935.



County Courthouse – Britton



















County Circuit Court courtroom

















Photos taken 2006, 2009 and 2018