Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » McPherson County

McPherson County


McPherson County is named for General James B McPherson, who was a Civil War general from Andover.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – McIntosh County, North Dakota and Dickey County, North Dakota

E – Brown County

S – Edmunds County

W – Campbell County


Created:  January 8, 1873                      Map of South Dakota highlighting McPherson County

County Seat:

Leola  1885 – present


County Courthouse – Leola


Location:  706 Main Street / Broadway Avenue

Built:  1927 – 1928

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:   Buechner & Orth of St. Paul, Minnesota

Contractor:  Majerus Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a stately three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Leola. On the south side of the building, the center section projects and has two columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story. Over the entrance is an eagle and stone columns rising to the third story. The roof line is flat. In the interior is a central rotunda  under a skylight. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located along the northeast side of the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 5th Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court. 


See:  The architect Buechner & Orth of St. Paul, Minnesota designed many courthouses.


See:  The 5th Judicial Circuit includes Brown CountyCampbell County, Day County, Edmunds CountyFaulk CountyMarshall County, Roberts County, Spink County and Walworth County.


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Leola became the county seat in 1883 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was a two story wood frame structure. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1927 to 1928.



County Courthouse – Leola







County Circuit Court courtroom



Photos taken 2007 and 2024