Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Faulk County

Faulk County


Faulk County is named for Andrew J Faulk, who served as the third Dakota Territorial governor from 1866 to 1869.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Edmunds County

E – Spink County

S – Hand County and Hyde County

W – Potter County
Created:  January 8, 1873                      Map of South Dakota highlighting Faulk County

County Seat:

La Foon   1883 – 1886

Faulkton  1886 – present


County Courthouse – Faulkton


Location:  110 9th Avenue South / Court Street

Built:  1905 – 1906

Style:  Renaissance and Classical Revival

Architect:  W R Parsons and Sons of Des Moines, Iowa

Contractor:  Gray Construction Company of Watertown


Description:  The building faces east and is a stately rectangular three story brown colored sandstone structure. The building is located on landscapred grounds in the center of Faulkton. Exterior walls are structural clay tile clad with Omaha pressed brick. Exterior trim is Port Wing brown colored sandstone. The building has a red colored stone base and portico supported by three large columns on the east side rising to a pediment. The roof line of the building has a balustrade. The first story windows have flat lintels and the second story windows are topped by a sandstone entablature supported by aeons. Third story windows are arched brick with pronounced archivolt trim. The interior has a wide central hallway. Two single run stairways, mirroring each other, rise along the north and south walls of the hallway. The balustrades are comprised of turned-wood balusters; newel posts are wood rising from the floor to the ceiling. The floors in the hallways are octagonal, tan ceramic tile highlighted with orange-red squares. The second story hallway floor also has a wide border of earth-tone tiles in varying sizes. All woodwork throughout the building is oak. The County Circuit Court courtroom on the west side of the third story does retain two recently restored murals by local artist, Charles T Geener. The mural on the north wall depicts an eagle clutching a shield. The mural on the south wall is of an angel flanked by lions. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 5th Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court. 


Note:  The W R Parsons and Sons of Des Moines, Iowa designed four of South Dakota’s county courthouses in Hanson County (1904) ( demolished ), Turner County (1902) and Yankton County (1905) ( demolished ).


See:  The contractor,  Gray Construction Company of Watertown also constructed courthouses in Clark CountyCodington CountyDouglas County, Edmunds County, Hamlin County, Hyde CountySully County and Walworth County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Faulk County Courthouse


See:  The 5th Judicial Circuit includes Brown CountyCampbell County, Day County, Edmunds CountyMarshall County, McPherson CountyRoberts County, Spink County and Walworth County.


History:  The county was created in 1873 and organized in 1883 with the county seat at LaFoon. The county seat moved to Faulkton in 1886 and the first courthouse was a two story wood frame structure. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1905 to 1906 at a cost of $38,459.



County Couthouse – Faulkton















County Circuit Court courtroom







Portrait – Major General Philip Henry Sheridan







Old County Jail – Faulkton



Photos taken 2007 and 2016