Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Turner County

Turner County

Turner County is named for John W Turner, who was a territorial legislator during 1865-66 and 1872.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – McCook County and Minnehaha County

E – County

S – Clay County and Yankton County

W – Yankton County and Hutchinson County


Created:  January 13, 1871                    Map of South Dakota highlighting Turner County

County Seat:                

Swan Lake City  1871 – 1885

Parker                1885 – present


County Courthouse – Parker


Location:  400 South Main Street Southwest / East Main Street

Built:  1902 – 1904

Style:   Neo-Classical

Architect:  W R Parsons and Son of Des Moines, Iowa

Contractor:  J W Delwiler of Des Moines, Iowa


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story brown colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Parker. The building has a raised base on the first story. The front and sides are symmetrical, with five bays on the front facade and three bays on each side, with the center bays projected forward.  The rear of the courthouse consists of a later addition, creating the base of the cross. The ground floor is separated from the second floor by a belt course of stone, which creates the appearance of a podium upon which the upper two stories rest. The second and third floors are smooth brickwork. On the center of the roof is an octagonal dome with silver colored roof. The center of the north front projects from the building with a pediment at the top. Along the roof line is a stone balustrade. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 1st Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court. 


Note:  The W R Parsons and Sons of Des Moines, Iowa designed four of South Dakota’s county courthouses in Faulk County (1905)Hanson County (1904) ( demolished ) and Yankton County (1905) ( demolished ).


See:  The 1st Judicial Circuit includes Aurora County, Bon Homme CountyBrule CountyBuffalo CountyCharles Mix County, Clay County, Davison CountyDouglas CountyHanson CountyHutchinson CountyMcCook CountyUnion County and Yankton County.


History:  The county was created in 1871 and Swan Lake City was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in Swan Lake City in 1872. The county seat was moved to Parker in 1885. The second and present courthouse was constructed in Parker in 1902 to 1904 at a cost of $27,653.



County Courthouse – Parker













County Circuit Court courtroom







Photos taken 2007 and 2016