Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Douglas County

Douglas County


Douglas County is named for Stephen A Douglas, who was a United States Senator from Illinois.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Aurora County and Davison County

E – Hutchinson County

S –  Charles Mix County 

W – Charles Mix County 


Created:  January 10, 1873                    Map of South Dakota highlighting Douglas County

County Seat:

Brownsdale   1881 – 1882

Huston          1882 – 1895

Armour          1895 – present


County Courthouse – Armour


Location:   706 Braddock Street / 1st Street

Built:   1926 – 1927

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  C Perkins & McWayne of Sioux Falls

Contractor:  Gray Construction Company of Watertown


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story red-brown colored brick, limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Armour. The west front has a projecting center section with white colored stone facing on the first story and four columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story forming three vertical arches. Above is a header. A projecting cornice runs below the roof line and a white colored stone band runs below the second story windows. Tennessee Tavernelle marble along with plaster and red oak trim decorate the interior of the courthouse. The floor has tile design number 2, Lombardic which was made by the American Encoustic Tile Company. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the west side of the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 1st Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court. On the north side is the old red colored brick Clerk’s Office designed by W L Dow and Sons and constructed by M C Momson was the builder.


See:  The contractor,  Gray Construction Company of Watertown also constructed courthouses in Clark CountyCodington CountyDavison County, Edmunds County, Faulk CountyHamlin County, Hyde CountySully County and Walworth County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Douglas County Courthouse


See:  The 1st Judicial Circuit includes Aurora County, Bon Homme CountyBrule CountyBuffalo CountyCharles Mix County, Clay County, Hanson CountyHutchinson CountyMcCook CountyTurner CountyUnion County and Yankton County.


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Brownsdale was selected as the county seat in 1881 when the county was organized.. The first courthouse was a building purchased in Brownsdale in 1881. The county seat was moved to Huston, three miles north of Armour in 1882. The county seat was moved to Armour in 1895 and a second courthouse was built at a cost of $6,000. The Clerk’s Office  was a brick structure built in 1902 at a cost of $3,625. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1926 to 1927.



County Courthouse – Armour

















County Circuit Court courtroom















Old Clerk’s Office – Armour



Photos taken 2009, 2010 and 2018