Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Yankton County

Yankton County

Yankton County is named for the Yankton Sioux Native Americans who lived in  the region at the time of settlement.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hutchinson County and Turner County 

E – Turner County and Clay County

S – Cedar County, Nebraska and Knox County, Nebraska

W – Bon Homme County


Created:  April 10, 1862                         Map of South Dakota highlighting Yankton County

County Seat:                

Yankton  1862 – present


County Courthouse – Yankton


Location:  410 Walnut Street / West 4th Street

Built:  1974 – 1975

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Glen Mannes of James Duffy & Associates

Contractor:  Keller Construction


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story light brown colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Yankton. The west front has a central entrance which projects from the main building. On the south side there are vertical pilasters with a wide band along the roof line. The roof rises with horizontal windows and flat roof line. In the interior, there are murals painted by Odin J Oyen along the staircase ascending to the second story. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the south side of the second story and has a high ceiling with horizontal windows along the upper section. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 1st Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court. An addition was built in 2006 and completed in 2008. The architect was Architecture Inc. of Sioux Falls and the contractor was Welfl Construction Company.


Note:  On February 7, 1905, the county signed a $1,500 contract with Odin J Oyen, a designer and decorator from La Crosse, Wisconsin, to produce the two murals, “Power of the Law” and “Justice of the Law” as well as other interior paintings at the then-new courthouse. The murals were hung in the third story County Circuit Court courtroom. By then, he had already painted courthouses, churches and other buildings.


SeeOdin J Oyen of La Crosse, Wisconsin painted murals in the courthouses located in Iowa – Osceola CountyMichigan – Shiawassee County; Minnesota – Grant CountyNorth Dakota – Cass CountySouth Dakota –  Brown County; and Wisconsin – La Crosse County (demolished), Lafayette County, Langlade County and Manitowoc County.


County Government Center – Yankton



Location:  321 West 3rd Street / Broadway Avenue

Built:  2003 – 2004

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Glenn H Mannes, Architects of Yankton

Contractor:  Tellinghuisen, Inc.


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Yankton. On the west side are three large columns and a recessed area. On the north front and south side the entrance projects from the main building with glass exterior. On the west side are three concrete columns rising to a header at the roof line.  Behind the columns is a recessed section with sloped glass panels. Inside is an open atrium. The building is called the Yankton County Government Center.


Old County Courthouse – Yankton



Location:  500 Douglas Avenue / West 5th Street

Built:  1876 – 1877

Style:  Federal

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story cream colored stucco and wood frame  structure. The building is located in the center of Yankton. The west front has a small portico on the first story with double arched window on the second story. Along the south side is a rectangular section with arched windows. The north section has a hipped roof. The building is now apartments. 


Note:  W R Parsons and Sons of Des Moines, Iowa designed four of South Dakota’s county courthouses in Faulk County (1905), Hanson County (1904) ( demolished ) and Turner County (1902).


See:  The 1st Judicial Circuit includes Aurora County, Bon Homme CountyBrule CountyBuffalo CountyCharles Mix County, Clay County, Davison CountyDouglas CountyHanson CountyHutchinson CountyMcCook CountyTurner County and Union County.


History:  The county was created in 1862 and Yankton was selected as the county seat. The county used rented premises. The first courthouse was built in 1876 to 1877 and is still standing. The second courthouse was designed by W R Parson & Sons and constructed by Sam Engelbreth in 1905. The building was demolished in 2003 when the Yankton County Government Center was constructed on the site in 2003 to 2004. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1974 to 1975 at a cost of $810,000 and the cost of construction of the addition was $8,000,000.



County Courthouse – Yankton













Mural by Odin J Oyen











County Circuit Court courtroom













County Government Center – Yankton

















Commissioner’s Meeting Room







Old County Courthouse – Yankton









Photos taken 2007, 2011, 2016 and 2018