Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Wisconsin » Manitowoc County

Manitowoc County

Manitowoc County is named for the Ojibwe Native American word “Munedoo-owk” meaning “the place of good spirit”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Brown County and Kewaunee County

E – Lake Michigan

S – Sheboygan County 

W – Calumet County and Brown County 


Created:  December 7, 1836                                          Map of Wisconsin showing Manitowoc County

County Seat: 

Manitowoc Rapids  1839 – 1853

Manitowoc              1853 – present


County Courthouse – Manitowoc


Location:  1010 South 8th Street / Washington Street

Built:  1906 – 1907

Style:  Beaux Arts / Classical Revival

Architect:  Christ H Tegen of Manitowoc

Contractor:  George Rickman & Sons Company


Description:  The building faces weat and is a three story stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Manitowoc. The large porticos have five arches on the first story.  The feature of the three principal elevations is a projecting two story colonnade of round Ionic columns extending through the second and third story and capped with a classical cornice with dentils and a stone parapet. A wide eave follows the flat roof line. On the center of the roof is a large square dome with silver colored roof and small cupola at the top. The plan of the interior is basically square with a large central square open lobby surrounded by balcony-corridors at second and third floor levels, and open full height to the central cupola. The central lobby at first floor level has a raised court four steps above the surrounding corridor and offices. The outstanding feature in this central lobby is a monumental cast iron stairway with ornamental cast iron balustrade. The interior lobby is ornamented with cast plaster columns and pilaster capitals, ceiling beams and massive arches at the third floor balcony level, decorated with colored stencil design. Interior marble wainscot, tile floors and oak woodwork are in good condition of preservation. The building has three County Circuit Court courtrooms located on the second story, with two of the courtrooms located along the north side. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 4th Judicial District.  


See:  The architect, Christ H Tegen of Manitowoc also designed the courthouse in Oneida County.


See:  Odin J Oyen of La Crosse, Wisconsin painted murals in the courthouses located in Iowa – Osceola CountyMichigan – Shiawassee County; Minnesota – Grant CountyNorth Dakota – Cass CountySouth Dakota –  Brown County and Yankton Countyand Wisconsin – La Crosse County (demolished), Lafayette County  and Langlade County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Manitowoc County Courthouse


See:  The 4th Judicial District includes Calumet County, Fond du Lac CountyGreen Lake CountyMarquette CountySheboygan County, Waushara County and Winnebago County. 


History:  The county was created in 1836 and Manitowoc Rapids was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a one story wood structure built in 1840 at a cost of $650. The courthouse burned in 1852. In 1853 the county seat was moved to Manitowoc. The second courthouse was built in 1857 to 1861. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1906 to 1907.



County Ciurthouse – Manitowoc





























Painting – First Courthouse



Painting – Manitowoc 1882



County Circuit Court courtroom









Photos taken 2007 and 2022