Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Wisconsin » Calumet County

Calumet County

Calumet County is named for the French language word for a Menominee peace pipe.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Outagamie County and Brown County

E – Manitowoc County

S – Sheyboygan County and Fond du Lac County

W – Winnebago County


Created:  December 7, 1836                  Map of Wisconsin highlighting Calumet County

County Seat: 

Stockbridge  1849 – 1856

Chilton          1856 – present


County Courthouse – Chilton


Location:  206 Court Street / South State Street

Built:  1911 – 1912

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  B Mehner of Rauber and Mehner

Contractor:  Majestic Construction


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Chilton. There is a low dome on the center of the roof and a concrete trimmed parapet. The first story is white colored stone and the upper stories are red colored brick. In the interior, although most wall surfaces are still painted plaster, successive cosmetic alterations have obscured the original character of the interior. The original wrought iron railings are still visible in the remaining two stories of the open rotunda. Despite progressive additions, the original portion of the building retains the features and intended dignity of the design. The former second and third story County Circuit Court courtrooms have been converted to offices as the County Circuit Court courtrooms are located in the Courthouse Annex. The first addition was constructed in 1961.  A Courthouse Annex was constructed on the north side in 1977 to 1978. The red colored brick and concrete building is three stories and contains two County Circuit Court courtrooms located on the north side of the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 4th Judicial District. The architect was The Stubenrauch Associates, Inc. of Sheboygan and the contractor was Hamann Construction Company of Manitowoc. A further addition was constructed from 1997 to 1998. The architect was The Stubenrauch Associates, Inc. of Sheboygan and the contractor was C G Schmidt, Inc.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Calumet County Courthouse


See:  The 4th Judicial District includes Fond du Lac CountyGreen Lake CountyManitowoc County, Marquette CountySheboygan County, Waushara County and Winnebago County. 


History:  The county was created in 1849 and the county officials met at Stockbridge. Brown County was in charge of judicial maters until the county seat was moved to Chilton in 1856. The first courthouse was erected in 1857 to 1865. The second courthouse was built by Asoph in 1882 and the building burned in 1912. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1912 to 1913,



County Courthouse – Chilton




















County Courthouse Annex – Chilton







County Circuit Court courtroom

















Photos taken 2007, 2011 and 2022