Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Bon Homme County

Bon Homme County

Bon Homme County is named for Bon Homme Island in the Missouri River, so named by a French voyageur meaning “good man”.


Surroundingg County Courthouses: 

N – Hutchinson County

E – Yankton County

S – Knox County, Nebraska

W – Charles Mix County



Created:  April 5, 1862                           Map of South Dakota highlighting Bon Homme County

County Seat: 

Bon Homme  1862 – 1885

Tyndall           1885 – present


County Courthouse – Tyndall


Location:  300 West 18th Avenue / Ivy Street

Built:  1914 – 1915

Style:  Neo-Classical and Beaux Arts

Architect:  Joseph A Schwarz

Contractor:   A M Wold Construction Company of Brookings


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story gray colored granite and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds to the northwest of the center of Tyndall. On the second and third stories, there are six stone columns. The south front section projects from the main building and the base is horizontal gray colored stone. Above the entrance door is a stone crest. The interior features a rotunda with a stained glass skylight dome and circular stairwell. The floors and stairs arte marble and the walls are embellished with pilasters and dentils. The light fixtures are brass. Four large interior murals done by Axel Soderberg of LaCrosse, Wisconsin. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the west side of the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 1st Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Bon Homme County Courthouse


See:  The 1st Judicial Circuit includes Aurora County, Brule CountyBuffalo CountyCharles Mix County, Clay County, Davison CountyDouglas CountyHanson CountyHutchinson CountyMcCook CountyTurner CountyUnion County and Yankton County.


History:  The county was created in 1862 and Bonne Homme was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure built in 1873 at a cost of $3,333. The county seat was moved to Tyndall in 1885. The second courthouse was built in Tyndall in 1885 at a cost of $6,000. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1914 to 1915 at a cost of $92,000.



County Courthouse – Tyndall



























County Circuit Court courtroom













Photos taken 2007 and 2018