Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Hamlin County

Hamlin County


Hamlin County is named for Hannibal Hamlin, who was Vice-President under Abraham Lincoln.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Codington County

E – Deuel County

S – Brookings County and Kingsbury County

W – Clark County


Created:  January 8, 1873                      Map of South Dakota highlighting Hamlin County

County Seat:

Spalding        1878 – 1884

Castlewood   1884 – 1910

Hayti              1910 – present


County Courthouse – Hayti


Location:  350 4th Street / Main Street

Built:   1916 – 1917

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:   Rose & Peterson of Kansas City, Missouri

Contractor:  Gray Construction Company of Warertown


Description: The building faces west and is a four story gray colored stone, steel and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Hayti and has four columns on the front rising from the second to third story. The first story of granite stone is laid out in a rusticated pattern. The entrance has two recessed doorways. A projecting cornice runs below the fourth story. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the center of the main floor features an 8 1/2 foot diameter mosaic tile of the South Dakota State seal embedded in the torgoment floor. It can be viewed from every floor through an open central atrium. A marble stairway extends to each floor with a wrought iron balustrade. Four foot marble wainscoting extends up the wall. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the east side of the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 3rd Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court.


See:  The contractor,  Gray Construction Company of Watertown also constructed courthouses in Clark CountyCodington CountyDouglas County, Edmunds County, Faulk CountyHyde CountySully County and Walworth County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Hamlin County Courthouse


See:  The 3rd Judicial Circuit includes Beadle CountyBrookings CountyClark CountyCodington CountyDeuel County, Grant CountyHand CountyJerauld County, Kingsbury County, Lake CountyMiner CountyMoody County and Sanborn County.  

History:  The county was created in 1873 and Spalding was selected as the county seat after the county was organized. An office was maintained and no courthouse was erected. The county seat was moved to Castlewood in 1884 but no courthouse was erected. The county seat was then moved to Hayti in 1910. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1916 to 1917.



County Courthouse – Hayti

















County Circuit Court courtroom

















Photos taken 2007 and 2018