Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Walworth County

Walworth County


Walworth County is named for the settlers who were originally from Walworth County in Wisconsin.              


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Campbell County

E – Edmunds County

S – Potter County

W – Dewey County and Corson County


Created:  January 8, 1873                      Map of South Dakota highlighting Walworth County

County Seat:                

Scranton  1883 – 1884

Bangor    1884 – 1908

Selby       1908 – present


County Courthouse – Selby


Location:  4304 4th Avenue / Theodore Street

Built:  1911 – 1912

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  J P Eisentraut

Contractor:  Gary Construction Company of Watertown


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story concrete, sandstone and buff colored brick structure. The building is located on spacious grounds in the center of Selby. On each side of the building, the center projects from the main building with a Greek style roof on the third story. The building is constructed on a concrete foundation and is faced with cut sandstone panels just above the finish grade. The first story of brick is dark reddish brown in color laid in a common bond pattern. On the second level, the brick is lighter in color. Every sixth course of brick is recessed. The third level of brickwork is once again a common bond pattern. A projecting cornice runs below the flat roof line. In the interior, the vestibules main entrance is wainscoting in white colored tile and opens to a landing on the buildings central stairwell, between the first and second stories. The stairway is a double-return design, and is constructed of slate treads and nosing. Wall and ceilings are plastered. Floors in hallways and other public spaces are surfaced with white colored tile with black colored tiles placed a repeating diamond pattern accentuated the floors, and the floor edges include black colored tiles in a simple labyrinth pattern. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 5th Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court. The jail is located on the north side. 


See:  The contractor,  Gray Construction Company of Watertown also constructed courthouses in Clark CountyCodington CountyDouglas County, Edmunds County, Faulk CountyHamlin County, Hyde County and Sully County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Walworth County Courthouse.


See:  The 5th Judicial Circuit includes Brown CountyCampbell County, Day County, Edmunds CountyFaulk CountyMarshall County, McPherson County Spink County. 


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Scranton was selected as the county seat in 1883 when the county was organized, Scranton was later changed to South LeBeau. The first county commissioner meeting was held at the home of Antoine LeBeau. In 1884, the county seat was moved to Bangor and the first courthouse was erected in Bangor. The county seat was moved to Selby in 1908. The Walworth County Building Association provided a building and vault for rent as the second courthouse. In 1911 to 1912 the third county courthouse was constructed at a cost of $50,002.



County Courthouse – Selby























Commissioner’s Meeting Room



County Circuit Court courtroom





County Jail – Selby

Photos taken 2006, 2010 and 2015