Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Codington County

Codington County


Codington County is named for the Reverend G S Codington, who was circuit preacher.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Day County and Grant County

E – Grant County and Deuel County

S – Hamlin County

W – Clark County


Created:  February 15, 1877                  Map of South Dakota highlighting Codington County

County Seat:

Kampeska  1878

Watertown  1878 – present


County Courthouse – Watertown


Location:  14 1st Avenue SE / Broadway

Built:  1928 – 1929

Style:  Neo-Classical and  Renaissance

Architect:  Freed and Perkins & McWayne

Contractor:  Gray Construction Company of Watertown


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story gray colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Watertown. There are stone columns rising from the second to third stories. The roof line is flat. Richly finished in marble and gold leaf, the interior is one of the most ornate of any courthouse in the state. The rotunda is the most striking interior feature, with its intricate colored glass dome. Nearby are two large murals, one representing “Justice and Power” and the other “Wisdom and Mercy,” painted by Vincent Aderente of New York City. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the second story.  A second courtroom is being constructed in the basement. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 3rd Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court.


See:  The contractor, Gray Construction Company of Watertown also constructed courthouses in Clark CountyDouglas County, Edmunds County, Faulk CountyHamlin County, Hyde CountySully County and Walworth County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Codington County Courthouse


See:  The 3rd Judicial Circuit includes Beadle CountyBrookings CountyClark CountyDeuel County, Grant CountyHamlin CountyHand CountyJerauld County, Kingsbury County, Lake CountyMiner CountyMoody County and Sanborn County.  


History:  The county was created in 1877 and Kampeska was selected as the county seat in 1878. The county seat was moved to Watertown in 1878 and the county offices were located at various locations including the Goss Hall and a Heegard and Company building in Watertown. The first courthouse was designed by Charles A Dunham and built in 1883 to 1884. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1928 to 1929 at a cost of S375,000.



County Courthouse – Watertown































County Circuit Court courtroom





















Photos taken 2007, 2009 and 2018