Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Beadle County

Beadle County


Beadle County is named for Brigadier General William Henry Harrison Beadle, who was an early president of the Normal School at Madison.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Spink County and Clark County

E – Clark County and Kingsbury County

S – Sanborn County and Jerauld County

W – Hand County 


Created:  October 1, 1879                      Map of South Dakota highlighting Beadle County

County Seat:  Huron  1880 – present


County Courthouse – Huron


Location:  450 3rd Street Southwest / Colorado Avenue Southwest

Built:  1923 – 1924

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  W E Hulse & Company of Des Moines, Iowa

Contractor:  Bartleson & Ness of Minot, North Dakota


Description:  The building .faces north and is a three story gray colored limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Huron.  On the second and third stories, there are square stone pillars between the windows. A cornice runs below the roof line. The entrance is on the north side of the building. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the two County Circuit Court courtrooms are located on the third story and were at one time, one large courtroom. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 3rd Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court.


See:  The 3rd Judicial Circuit includes Beadle CountyBrookings CountyClark CountyCodington CountyDeuel County, Grant CountyHamlin CountyHand CountyJerauld County, Kingsbury County, Lake CountyMiner CountyMoody County and Sanborn County.  


History:  The county was created in 1879 and Huron was selected as the county seat in 1880. The first courthouse was a two story structure designed by Charles B Cook and built in 1884. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1922 to 1924.



County Courthouse – Huron

















County Circuit Court courtroom







Photos taken 2006 and 2009