Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Miner County

Miner County


Miner County is named for Nelson Miner of Vermillion and Ephraim Miner of Yankton, both of whom were territorial legislators in 1873.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Kingsbury County

E – Lake County

S – McCook County and Hanson County

W – Sanborn County


 Created:  January 8, 1873                     Map of South Dakota highlighting Miner County

 County Seat:                

Forestburg   1880 – 1882

Howard        1882 – present


County Courthouse – Howard


Location:  401 North Main Street / Park Avenue

Built:  1934 – 1935

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Floyd E Kings and Walter J Dixon

Contractor:  Huron Construction Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a three buff colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Howard. The south entrance is framed with stone. On the second and third stories, the windows are separated by silver colored dividers. There is a crest near the roof line and the roof line is flat. In the interior, Art Deco metal stairs ascend to the third story. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the on the west side of the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 3rd Judicial District and the County Magistrate Court.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Miner County Courthouse


See:  The 3rd Judicial Circuit includes Beadle CountyBrookings CountyClark CountyCodington CountyDeuel County, Grant CountyHamlin CountyHand CountyJerauld County, Kingsbury County, Lake CountyMoody County and Sanborn County.  


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Forestburg was selected as the county seat in 1880 when the county was organized. The county occupied rental premises. The county seat was moved to Howard in 1882 and a courthouse was built in 1883 at a cost of $15,000. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1934 to 1935 at a cost of $107,000.



County Courthouse – Howard



















County Circuit Court courtroom













Photos taken 2007, 2009 and 2018