Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Kingsbury County

Kingsbury County


Kingsbury County is named for George W Kingsbury and T A Kingsbury, who were brothers and territorial legislators.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Clark County and Hamlin County

E – Brookings County 

S – Lake County and Miner County

W – Beadle County


Created:  January 8, 1873                      Map of South Dakota highlighting Kingsbury County

County Seat:

De Smet  1880 – present


County Courthouse – De Smet


Location:  202 2nd Avenue / Jolliet Avenue

Built:  1898 – 1899

Style:  Renaissance

Architect:  W L Dow of Sioux Falls

Contractor:  M E Bush


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of De Smet and has a square white colored wood dome with silver colored roof in the center. There is a porch with wood pillars underneath the second floor on the west front at the main entrance. North and south wings extend from the main building. The roof is hipped. In the interior is a wooden staircase ascending to the second story. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the west side of the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 3rd Judicial District and the County Magistrate Court.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Kingsbury County Courthouse


See:  The 3rd Judicial Circuit includes Beadle CountyBrookings CountyClark CountyCodington CountyDeuel County, Grant CountyHamlin CountyHand CountyJerauld County, Lake CountyMiner CountyMoody County and Sanborn County.  


History:  The county was created in 1873 and De Smet was selected as the county seat in 1880 when the county was organized. The courthouse is the first and only courthouse erected in the county. In 1888 the east wing was built and in 1892 the west wing was built. The main courthouse was constructed in 1898 to 1899.



County Courthouse – De Smet























County Circuit Court courtroom



















Photos taken 2007, 2009 and 2018