Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Sanborn County

Sanborn County


Sanborn County is named for George W Sanborn, who was a superintendent of the Milwaukee Railroad.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Beadle County

E – Miner County

S – Hanson County and Davison County

W – Aurora County and Jerauld County


 Created:  May 1, 1883                           Map of South Dakota highlighting Sanborn County

 County Seat:                

Woonsocket  1884 – present


County Courthouse – Woonsocket


Location:  604 West 6th Street / South 3rd Avenue

Built:  1907 – 1908

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  E P Eisentraut of Sioux City, Iowa

Contractor:  Eisentraut-Coly Pottenfer Company of Sioux City Iowa


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Woonsocket. The base of the building is gray colored stone. The south front has a protruding center section with entrance door and stone trim up to the Greek style roof. There are similar extensions on the east and west sides but without the stone trim. A white colored protruding cornice runs along the roof line. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 3rd Judicial District and the County Magistrate Court.


See:  The 3rd Judicial Circuit includes Beadle CountyBrookings CountyClark CountyCodington CountyDeuel County, Grant CountyHamlin CountyHand CountyJerauld County, Kingsbury County, Lake CountyMiner County and Moody County.


History:  The county was created in 1883 and Woonsocket was selected as the county seat in 1884. The county used rented premises. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1907 to 1908.



County Courthouse – Woonsocket 

















County Circuit Court courtroom





Photos taken 2006 and 2016